Posted in Travels

A bit of glitz n glamor? 

Our trip to LA didn’t go quite as planned, I had this preconceived notion and n my mind of what I was going to see and what I would enjoy and I was very wrong.  My intention on the day we went to Beverly Hills and Hollywood was to walk Rodeo drive, have a nice breakfast and coffee and then walk to Sunset strip, see Hollywood and head into LA early afternoon because there just wasn’t going to be that much of interest to me in Hollywood.  So wrong! 

I was a little right about Rodeo drive but that’s more about me than anything else, I am easily intimidated and felt very uncomfortable in my walking shoes in such a fancy place,  we really enjoyed breakfast though it was such a lovely restaurant and I did enjoy that I was there and seeing it.  I do love this picture it shows me in all my daggy glory standing amongst so much glamor 😌 


We walked the street and the one that runs parallel as well, then started our 20min. Wander up to Hollywood.  Hahaha yes so it’s name should have been a giveaway but needless to say I didn’t heed the warnings.  Hills, nice big steep hills, however the houses and the streets are delightful and it was a nice walk through past some very impressive homes,  who knows I may have glanced in the windows of celebrity on that walk.. 


By the time we made it to Sunset strip and Hollywood we were ready for lunch and beers,  the view was spectacular but not easily captured by photos. 

We wandered down sunset boulevard, found a cute place for lunch, I took a picture of the menu because our sweet potato fries came with marshmallow dressing and we weren’t sure what that was,  again it’s in the name, it was actually marshmallow sauce,  we couldn’t decide if we liked it or not but we ate a bit of it trying to figure that out. 

There were loads of cool places to see as we walked through we took our time and just enjoyed taking it all in. 

By the time we made it to Hollywood boulevard it was mid afternoon,  I really didn’t think the stars on the sidewalk would capture me the way that they did,  it was surreal to be there looking at them,  touching them, finding all our favourites.  I was quite mesmerised by them. 


I was in search of the worlds best candy store, what I read on Pinterest said there would be umpa lumpas there and I was trying to make sure I didn’t step over any superstars whilst ensuring I didn’t walk past the candy store.   I was a little disappointed by the unexplained Umpa Lumpa absence, but it was still worth the find.  


We decided from here that we weren’t making it to LA and instead became focused on the ‘Hollywood’ sign, I got side tracked by a huge display advertising The Mummy movie,  it just screamed overkill but I absolutely LovedIt. 


And then as I was admiring the movie posters I saw it in the distance, my first glimpse of the Hollywood sign. 


We wandered a bit more after this through the streets, found a place for some eats and a nice drink and then tossed up walking the 3.5km to ‘the best view of the Hollywood sign.’  We decided to jump in an Uber and I’m so glad we did because that walk was straight up, steep skinny windy roads we would have been miserable if we had attempted that walk,  instead we had a great Uber driver take us up and then a really nice Uber lady took us back to the hotel after,  she was loads of fun. 


She had #ridesharedoodle pad which I tried to draw in but I have zero talent with this stuff so my lame picture is as per below. 

It really was a very long and very memorable day and I learnt that I need to open my mind to new things,  my preconceived ideas of what things will be is proven to be quite far from what they actually are.  

Hollywood boulevard was excited, fun and full of energy I just wanted to sit and watch it all afternoon and evening. 

Leave a Reply

